Dr. Strow's Atmospheric Spectroscopy Group Wins NASA Award

The UMBC Atmospheric Spectroscopy Laboratory, led by Dr. Larrabee Strow, has been collaborating with NASA/California Institute of Technology's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) AIRS Project for many years. In recognition of their contribution, JPL nominated the group for the NASA Group Achievement Award for "Exceptional achievement in the spectral calibration of the AIRS instrument and development of the AIRS Radiative Transfer Algorithm." 

The award from the NASA Administrator Charles F. Bolden, was presented to our team (Larrabee Strow, Scott Hannon, Sergio De-Souza Machado, Howard Motteler, and Breno Imbiriba) at the AIRS Science Team Meeting last week (October 2014) in Greenbelt, MD. 

Photo shows, from L to R, 
Tom Pagano, the AIRS Project Manager
Larrabee Strow, UMBC Physics Professor
Sergio DeSouza-Machado, UMBC JCET Research Asst Professor/Physics affiliate
Dr. Jack Kaye, manager of NASA's Earth Science Research Program
Joao Teixeira, the AIRS Science Team Leader

Posted: October 14, 2014, 10:23 AM