Skip to Main Content

Office of the Vice President for Research

Steiner 64x96
Karl V. Steiner
Vice President for Research
steinerk@umbc.edu
410-455-5636
2016-02-01 Cathy Allison Cathy Allison
Executive Administrative Assistant II 
allison@umbc.edu
410-455-5636
2014-11 Dean Drake Dean Drake
Associate Vice President for Research
ddrake@umbc.edu
410-455-5642
Don Engel 3x2 Don Engel
Assistant Vice President for Research
donengel@umbc.edu
410-455-2837
Karen Roberts
Business Services Specialist
karenrob@umbc.edu
410-455-8129
Chanell Rome Chanell Rome
eRA Business Analyst
crome@umbc.edu
410-455-8765

Office of Research Development

Don Engel 3x2 Don Engel
Assistant Vice President for Research
donengel@umbc.edu
410-455-2837

Office of Sponsored Programs

Stan Jackson 14-1 Stanley Jackson
CRA, Director
jacksons@umbc.edu
410-455-1336
Sean Curley
Grants and Contracts Specialist
curley1@umbc.edu
410-455-3010
DSC_9287 Daniele Franz
Grants and Contracts Associate
dfranz@umbc.edu
410-455-3140
Jessica Holte
Grants and Contracts Specialist
holte1@umbc.edu
410-455-1341
DSC_8620 Cameron McAdams
Grants and Contracts Manager
cameron2@umbc.edu
410-455-3187
Michal Mielech
CRA, Grants and Contracts Manager
mmielech@umbc.edu
410-455-3255
Rebecca O’Brien
Grants and Contracts Manager
obrienr@umbc.edu
410-455-3928
Laura Taylor
Grants and Contracts Specialist
lataylor@umbc.edu
410-455-8155
MWalsh_Portrait Michael Walsh
Grants and Contracts Manager
Training Coordinator
mwalsh3@umbc.edu
410-455-3037
DSC_8656 64x96 Deborah Waters
CRA, Senior Grants and Contracts Manager
waters@umbc.edu
410-455-8635

Office of Center Administration and Management

Amy Rynes
Director
amyrynes@umbc.edu
410-455-1764
Deborah Wellens
Business Manager
dwellens@umbc.edu
410-455-1763
Corrine Mohnasky
Accounting Associate
cmohnask@umbc.edu
410-455-5813

Office of Research Protections and Compliance 

Tim Sparklin Timothy Sparklin
Research Compliance Officer
sparklin@umbc.edu
410-455-2737
Andrew Glenn
Compliance Specialist
aglenn@umbc.edu
443-543-5455
Mary Lilly 244 Mary Lilly
Executive Administrative Assistant I
Protocol Review Specialist
lilly@umbc.edu
410-455-3958

Office of Technology Development 

2016-01-29 Wendy Martin Wendy Martin
Director
wmartin@umbc.edu
410-455-3658
2016-01-29 Olga Aquino Olga Aquino
Intellectual Property Coordinator
oaquino@umbc.edu
410-455-5610
Paola-Buitron-UMBC-portrait- Paola Buitron
Manager, Technology Development & Corporate Contracts 
pbuitron@umbc.edu
443-543-5598
diane Diane Markellos
Administrative Assistant II
dianem@umbc.edu
410-455-1414