Skip to Main Content

Core Facilities

UMBC provides easy access to a variety of shared core facilities. Please use the links below to learn more about the capabilities of each facility and contact the listed person for scheduling and pricing and to discuss your specific research needs.

Aquaculture Research Center (ARC)
IMET, Baltimore Inner Harbor
Dr, Yonathan Zohar
Department of Marine Biotechnology
zohar@umbc.edu

Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging  
Dr. Elliott Hong
Maryland Psychiatric Research Center at Spring Grove Hospital Campus
ehong@mprc.umaryland.edu
410 402-6828

Glasswork Facility
Anthony Baney
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
abaney@umbc.edu
410-455-2966

High Performance Computing Facility (HPCF)
Dr. Matthias Gobbert
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
gobbert@math.umbc.edu
410-455-2404

Keith R. Porter Core Imaging Facility  
Dr. Tagide deCarvalho
College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences
tagided@umbc.edu
410-455-2296

Micro-fabrication, Machining and Electronics Technical Services Center
Timothy Buckheit
College of Engineering and Information Technology
buckheit@umbc.edu
410-455-3508

Molecular Characterization and Analysis Complex (MCAC) 
Joshua Wilhide
College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences
wilhilde3@umbc.edu
410-455-2815

Nanoimaging Facility (NIF)
Dr. Tagide deCarvalho
College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences
tagided@umbc.edu
410-455-2296

Photogrammetry Facility
Dr. Marc Olano
Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering
olano@umbc.edu
410-455-3094

Pi Squared Visualization Facility
Dr. Don Engel
Office of the Vice President for Research
donengel@umbc.edu
410-455-2837