The International Cybersecurity Center of Excellence – INCS-CoE

The International Cybersecurity Center of Excellence (INCS-CoE) is an international collaboration to address today’s and tomorrow’s most pressing cyber challenges. For more information, see
INCS-CoE Vision

The Vision of INCS-CoE is to work together in a multi-stakeholder environment within a Government-Industry-Academia partnership, starting with six founding institutions from three Nations – the US, UK, and Japan – and since expanding the environment for ambitious international collaboration to achieve positive real-world impact.

INCS-CoE Mission

The Mission of INCS-CoE is to pioneer efforts worldwide to address challenges created by the growing borderless digital society. Understanding that a single nation-state or one organization will not be able to solve the challenges on its own, the INCS-CoE started with university cooperation and is growing into a broader government-industry-academia collaboration. INCS-CoE international collaboration targets education, research, policy, standards and regulation, international symposia, workshops and meetings.

UMBC President Freeman Hrabowski was the first of the six Charter Institution Presidents to ratify the INCS-CoE Charter Agreement at a ceremony at UMBC on April 30, 2019. The INCS-CoE was formally launched as part of the 8th International Cybersecurity Symposium at Keio University on July 11, 2019 in Tokyo, Japan.
UMBC Provost Philip Rous and UMBC Vice President for Research Karl V. Steiner joined colleagues for the INCS-CoE signing ceremony by Alice Gast, President of Imperial College London (center) Paul Layzell, Principal of Royal Holloway University of London (left), and Joseph Aoun, President of Northeastern University (right) at Imperial College London on June 28, 2019 in London, U.K..
The INCS-CoE Board met at Keio University in Tokyo, Japan on July 8-11, 2019.
From Left: Kazuo Noguchi, Keio – Executive Director; Karl V. Steiner, UMBC; Keith Mayes, Royal Holloway; Satoru Tezuka, Keio – Chair; David Luzzi, Northeastern – Vice-Chair; Chris Hankin, Imperial College; Koji Okamura, Kyushu.