Skip to Main Content

Research and Creative Achievement Council

The UMBC Research and Creative Achievement Council is a University Committee that reports directly to the Faculty Senate. The Council reviews and recommends policies that promote and enhance research, scholarship, and creative activity at UMBC. It also “serves as a forum for discussion of research issues or systematic problems in need of amelioration.” In addition, the UMBC Research and Creative Achievement Council is charged with:

  1. carrying out periodic reviews of UMBC Centers and Institutes to ensure the academic quality and value to the University;
  2. receiving reports from UMBC administration and research committees including issues of University compliance with Federal and State regulations; and
  3. voicing faculty concerns to the campus administration on matters involving administrative or academic affairs affecting the quality of research.

 

Fall 2019 – Spring 2020 Research and Creative Achievement Council Meetings:  
(All meetings are 11am-1pm)
  • September 13, 2019 – RCAC members only (ex officio members should not attend)
  • October 11, 2019 – FA427
  • November 8, 2019 –  FA427
  • December 13, 2019 – FA427
  • February 14, 2020 – Commons 318
  • March 13, 2020 – 11:00-1:00 Commons 318
  • April 10, 2020 – 11:00-1:00 Commons 318
  • May 8, 2020 – 11:00-1:00 Commons 318

If you would like to bring a potential initiative, concern or suggestion to the Research and Creative Achievement Council’s attention, please contact the Council through any or all of the individuals below.

We look forward to hearing from and working with you!


2018-2019 Research and Creative Achievement Council – Members

Graduate Student AssociationDan MillerPhysicsmild1@umbc.edu

Representing Name Department/Unit Email Term (AYs)
Faculty Senate Tulay Adali Computer Science and Electrical Engineering adali@umbc.edu 2017-2020
Faculty Senate Shawn Bediako (chair) Psychology bediako@umbc.edu 2017-2020
Faculty Senate Charissa Cheah Psychology ccheah@umbc.edu 2019-2022
Faculty Senate Erle Ellis Geography and Environmental Systems ece@umbc.edu 2019-2022
Faculty Senate Michelle Flinchbaugh Library flinchba@umbc.edu 2018-2021
Faculty Senate Karuna Joshi Information Systems kjoshi1@umbc.edu 2018-2021
Faculty Senate Shimei Pan Information Systems shimei@umbc.edu 2018-2021
Faculty Senate Matt Pelton Physics mpelton@umbc.edu 2017-2020
Faculty Senate Whitney Schwab Philosophy wschwab@umbc.edu 2018-2021
Non-Exempt Staff Sabrina Strohmier CUERE sabrinas@umbc.edu
Professional Staff Senate
Justine Johnson
Meyerhoff Graduate Program bivins@umbc.edu
Professional Staff Senate Michael Walsh Office of Sponsored Programs mwalsh3@umbc.edu
Research Centers Christine Mallinson Center for Social Science Scholarship  (CS3) mallinson@umbc.edu
Research Centers Sergio De Souza-Machad JCET sergio@umbc.edu
Senior Research Administrators Group James Milani COEIT milani@umbc.edu
Ex-Officio Members of the Council (non-voting)
  • Provost (or designate)
  • Vice President for Administration and Finance (or designate)
  • Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer (or designate)
  • Vice President for Research (or designate)
  • Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences (or designate)
  • Dean of Engineering and Information Technology (or designate)
  • Dean of Natural and Mathematical Sciences (or designate)
  • Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (or designate)
  • Dean of the Erickson School (or designate)
  • Director of the Library (or designate)