Skip to Main Content

Research and Creative Achievement Council

The UMBC Research and Creative Achievement Council is a University Committee that reports directly to the Faculty Senate. The Council reviews and recommends policies that promote and enhance research, scholarship, and creative activity at UMBC. It also “serves as a forum for discussion of research issues or systematic problems in need of amelioration.” In addition, the UMBC Research and Creative Achievement Council is charged with:

  1. carrying out periodic reviews of UMBC Centers and Institutes to ensure the academic quality and value to the University;
  2. receiving reports from UMBC administration and research committees including issues of University compliance with Federal and State regulations; and
  3. voicing faculty concerns to the campus administration on matters involving administrative or academic affairs affecting the quality of research.


Fall 2018 – Spring 2019 Research and Creative Achievement Council Meetings:  
  • September 14, 2018 – University Center, Room 312
  • October 12, 2018 – Fine Arts Building, Room 427
  • November 9, 2018 – Fine Arts Building, Room 427
  • December 14, 2018 – Fine Arts Building, Room 427
  • February, 8, 2019 – Fine Arts Building, Room 424
  • March 8, 2019 – Cancelled
  • April meeting – TBD, likely to be at 2pm instead of the normal time.
  • May 10, 2019 – Fine Arts Building, Room 427


If you would like to bring a potential initiative, concern or suggestion to the Research and Creative Achievement Council’s attention, please contact the Council through any or all of the individuals below.

We look forward to hearing from and working with you!

2017-2018 Research and Creative Achievement Council – Members

Graduate Student AssociationDan

Representing Name Department/Unit Email Term (AYs)
Faculty Senate Tulay Adali Computer Science and Electrical Engineering 2017-2020
Faculty Senate Bradley Arnold Chemistry and Biochemistry 2016-2019
Faculty Senate Shawn Bediako (chair) Psychology 2017-2020
Faculty Senate Christy Chapin History 2016-2019
Faculty Senate Michelle Flinchbaugh Library 2018-2021
Faculty Senate Karuna Joshi Information Systems 2016-2019
Faculty Senate Shimei Pan Information Systems 2018-2021
Faculty Senate Matt Pelton Physics 2017-2020
Faculty Senate Whitney Schwab Philosophy 2018-2021
Non-Exempt Staff Sabrina Strohmier CUERE
Professional Staff Senate
Justine Johnson
Meyerhoff Graduate Program
Professional Staff Senate Michael Walsh Office of Sponsored Programs
Research Centers Christine Mallinson Center for Social Science Scholarship  (CS3)
Research Centers Sergio De Souza-Machad JCET
Senior Research Administrators Group James Milani COEIT
Ex-Officio Members of the Council (non-voting)
  • Provost (or designate)
  • Vice President for Administration and Finance (or designate)
  • Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer (or designate)
  • Vice President for Research (or designate)
  • Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences (or designate)
  • Dean of Engineering and Information Technology (or designate)
  • Dean of Natural and Mathematical Sciences (or designate)
  • Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (or designate)
  • Dean of the Erickson School (or designate)
  • Director of the Library (or designate)