Research and Creative Achievement Council

The UMBC Research and Creative Achievement Council (RCAC)  is described in the Plan of Organization for the Senates of UMBC and includes representation from several of UMBC’s senates and other groups, as detailed in the roster below. The Council reviews and recommends policies that promote and enhance research, scholarship, and creative activity at UMBC. It also “serves as a forum for discussion of research issues or systematic problems in need of amelioration.” In addition, the UMBC Research and Creative Achievement Council is charged with:

  1. carrying out periodic reviews of UMBC Centers and Institutes to ensure the academic quality and value to the University;
  2. receiving reports from UMBC administration and research committees including issues of University compliance with Federal and State regulations; and
  3. voicing faculty concerns to the campus administration on matters involving administrative or academic affairs affecting the quality of research.
Research and Creative Achievement Council Meetings:  
(All meetings are 11am-1pm)
  • September 9, 2022 – Virtual via WebEx. To request link, email ord@umbc.edu.
  • October 14, 2022 – Virtual via WebEx. To request link, email ord@umbc.edu.
  • November 11, 2022 – Virtual via WebEx. To request link, email ord@umbc.edu.
  • December 9, 2022 – Virtual via WebEx. To request link, email ord@umbc.edu.
  • February 10, 2023 – Virtual via WebEx. To request link, email ord@umbc.edu.
  • March 10, 2023 – Virtual via WebEx. To request link, email ord@umbc.edu.
  • April 14, 2023 – Virtual via WebEx. To request link, email ord@umbc.edu.
  • May 12, 2023 – Virtual via WebEx. To request link, email ord@umbc.edu.

If you would like to bring a potential initiative, concern or suggestion to the Research and Creative Achievement Council’s attention, please contact the Council through any or all of the individuals below.

We look forward to hearing from and working with you!


Research and Creative Achievement Council – Members
Representing Name Department/Unit Email Term (AYs)
Faculty Senate Gary Carter Computer Science and Electrical Engineering carter@umbc.edu 2021-2024
Faculty Senate Erle Ellis Geography and Environmental Systems ece@umbc.edu 2012-2025
Faculty Senate Aryya Ghangopadhyay Information Sciences gangopad@umbc.edu 2020-2023
Faculty Senate Erin Green
Biological Sciences
egreen@umbc.edu 2011-2024
Faculty Senate Thania Munoz Davaslioglu Modern Languages, Linguistics & Intercultural Communication munozt@umbc.edu 2022-2025
Faculty Senate Matt Pelton (chair) Physics mpelton@umbc.edu 2020-2023
Faculty Senate Jianwu Wang Information Systems jianwu@umbc.edu 2020-2023
Faculty Senate Ten-Tsao Wong Marine Biotechnology twong@umbc.edu 2021-2024
Faculty Senate Semhar Yohannes Library semhar@umbc.edu 2021-2024
Non-Exempt Staff Lisa Harris Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences lisah@umbc.edu 2021
Prof. Staff Senate
Lori Hardesty
The Shriver Center lleonard@umbc.edu 2023
Prof. Staff Senate Michael Walsh Office of Sponsored Programs mwalsh3@umbc.edu 2023
Grad. Student Assoc. Kara Seidel LLC seidelk1@umbc.edu
Research Centers Christine Mallinson Center for Social Science Scholarship  (CS3) mallinson@umbc.edu
Research Centers Sergio De Souza-Machad JCET sergio@umbc.edu
Sr. Research Admin. Grp. Dean Drake OVPR ddrake@umbc.edu
Ex-Officio Members of the Council (non-voting)
  • Provost (or designate)
  • Vice President for Administration and Finance (or designate)
  • Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer (or designate)
  • Vice President for Research (or designate)
  • Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences (or designate)
  • Dean of Engineering and Information Technology (or designate)
  • Dean of Natural and Mathematical Sciences (or designate)
  • Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (or designate)
  • Dean of the Erickson School (or designate)
  • Director of the Library (or designate)
  • Director of Undergraduate Research and Prestigious Scholarships