Skip to Main Content

Research and Creative Achievement Council

The UMBC Research and Creative Achievement Council (RCAC)  is described in the Plan of Organization for the Senates of UMBC and includes representation from several of UMBC’s senates and other groups, as detailed in the roster below. The Council reviews and recommends policies that promote and enhance research, scholarship, and creative activity at UMBC. It also “serves as a forum for discussion of research issues or systematic problems in need of amelioration.” In addition, the UMBC Research and Creative Achievement Council is charged with:

  1. carrying out periodic reviews of UMBC Centers and Institutes to ensure the academic quality and value to the University;
  2. receiving reports from UMBC administration and research committees including issues of University compliance with Federal and State regulations; and
  3. voicing faculty concerns to the campus administration on matters involving administrative or academic affairs affecting the quality of research.
Research and Creative Achievement Council Meetings:  
(All meetings are 11am-1pm)
  • September 11, 2020 – Virtual via WebEx
  • October 9, 2020 – Virtual via WebEx
  • November 13, 2020 – Virtual via WebEx
  • December 11, 2020 – Virtual via WebEx
  • February 12, 2021 – Virtual via WebEx
  • March 12, 2021 – Virtual via WebEx
  • April 9, 2021 – Virtual via WebEx
  • May 14, 2021 – Virtual via WebEx

If you would like to bring a potential initiative, concern or suggestion to the Research and Creative Achievement Council’s attention, please contact the Council through any or all of the individuals below.

We look forward to hearing from and working with you!


Research and Creative Achievement Council – Members
Representing Name Department/Unit Email Term (AYs)
Faculty Senate Charissa Cheah Psychology ccheah@umbc.edu 2019-2022
Faculty Senate Erle Ellis Geography and Environmental Systems ece@umbc.edu 2019-2022
Faculty Senate Michelle Flinchbaugh Library flinchba@umbc.edu 2018-2021
Faculty Senate Aryya Ghangopadhyay Information Sciences gangopad@umbc.edu 2020-2023
Faculty Senate Karuna Joshi (chair) Information Systems kjoshi1@umbc.edu 2018-2021
Faculty Senate Shimei Pan Information Systems shimei@umbc.edu 2018-2021
Faculty Senate Matt Pelton Physics mpelton@umbc.edu 2020-2023
Faculty Senate Whitney Schwab Philosophy wschwab@umbc.edu 2018-2021
Faculty Senate Ten-Tsao Wong Marine Biotechnology twong@umbc.edu 2020-2023
Non-Exempt Staff Lisa Harris Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences lisah@umbc.edu 2021
Prof. Staff Senate
Lori Hardesty
The Shriver Center lleonard@umbc.edu 2021
Prof. Staff Senate Kevin Joseph Division of Information Technology kjoseph@umbc.edu 2021
Grad. Student Assoc. Alex Rittle Geography and Environmental Systems arittle1@umbc.edu
Research Centers Christine Mallinson Center for Social Science Scholarship  (CS3) mallinson@umbc.edu
Research Centers Sergio De Souza-Machad JCET sergio@umbc.edu
Sr. Research Admin. Grp. Dean Drake OVPR ddrake@umbc.edu
Ex-Officio Members of the Council (non-voting)
  • Provost (or designate)
  • Vice President for Administration and Finance (or designate)
  • Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer (or designate)
  • Vice President for Research (or designate)
  • Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences (or designate)
  • Dean of Engineering and Information Technology (or designate)
  • Dean of Natural and Mathematical Sciences (or designate)
  • Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (or designate)
  • Dean of the Erickson School (or designate)
  • Director of the Library (or designate)