UMBC Police phone (410-455-5555) main line is back online.
Skip to Main Content

Office of the Vice President for Research

Karl V. Steiner
Vice President for Research
steinerk@umbc.edu
410-455-5636
Cathy Allison Cathy Allison
Executive Administrative Assistant II 
allison@umbc.edu
410-455-5636
2014-11 Dean Drake Dean Drake
Associate Vice President for Research
ddrake@umbc.edu
410-455-5642
Connie Dudley
Contracts Manager
cdudley@umbc.edu
443-543-5038
donengel Don Engel
Assistant Vice President for Research
donengel@umbc.edu
410-929-3643
unnamed Ralph Pollack
Associate Vice President for Proposal Development (part time) 
pollack@umbc.edu

Office of Sponsored Programs

Michael L. Nichols
J.D., MPA, CRA, Director
michaeln@umbc.edu
410-455-3636
Karen Barnes
CRA, Grants & Contracts Manager
kbarnes@umbc.edu
410-455-1374
Sabrina Coppage
Grants & Contracts Manager
coppage@umbc.edu
410-455-5564
Daniele Franz
Administrative Assistant II
dfranz@umbc.edu
410-455-3140
Stanley Jackson
CRAGrants & Contracts Manager
jacksons@umbc.edu
410-455-1336
Cameron McAdams
Grants & Contracts Specialist
cameron2@umbc.edu
410-455-3187
Matthew Poland
CRA, Grants & Contracts Manager
mpoland@umbc.edu
410-455-8155
Michael Walsh
Grants & Contracts Manager
mwalsh3@umbc.edu
410-455-3037
Deborah Waters
CRA, Senior Grants & Contracts Manager
waters@umbc.edu
410-455-8635

Office of Research Protections and Compliance 

Timothy Sparklin
CIM, CIP Research Compliance Officer
sparklin@umbc.edu
410-455-2737
Mary Lilly Mary Lilly
Protocol Review
lilly@umbc.edu
410-455-3958

Office of Technology Development 

Wendy Martin Wendy Martin
Director
wmartin@umbc.edu
410-455-3658
Olga pic Olga Aquino
Intellectual Property Coordinator 
oaquino@umbc.edu
410-455-5610
Diance Markellos Diane Markellos
Administrative Assistant II
dianem@umbc.edu
410-455-1414
Paola Buitron Paola Buitron
Technology Manager
pbuitron@umbc.edu
443-543-5598