Skip to Main Content

Office of the Vice President for Research

Karl V. Steiner
Vice President for Research
steinerk@umbc.edu
410-455-5636
Cathy Allison Cathy Allison
Executive Administrative Assistant II 
allison@umbc.edu
410-455-5636
Dean Drake
Assistant Vice President for Research
ddrake@umbc.edu
410-455-5642
Connie Dudley
Contracts Manager
cdudley@umbc.edu
443-543-5038
pic Don Engel
Assistant Vice President for Research
donengel@umbc.edu
410-929-3643
Ralph Pollack Ralph Pollack
Interim Associate Vice President for Research Development 
pollack@umbc.edu

Office of Sponsored Programs

Karen Barnes
CRA, Grants & Contracts Manager
kbarnes@umbc.edu
410-455-1374
Sabrina Coppage
Grants & Contracts Manager
coppage@umbc.edu
410-455-5564
Daniele Franz
Administrative Assistant II
dfranz@umbc.edu
410-455-3140
Stanley Jackson
CRAGrants & Contracts Manager
jacksons@umbc.edu
410-455-1336
Chad League
J.D.Grants & Contracts Specialist 
cleague@umbc.edu
410-455-3255
Cameron McAdams
Grants & Contracts Specialist
cameron2@umbc.edu
410-455-3187
Matthew Poland
CRA, Grants & Contracts Manager
mpoland@umbc.edu
410-455-8155
Michael Walsh
Grants & Contracts Manager
mwalsh3@umbc.edu
410-455-3037
Deborah Waters
CRA, Senior Grants & Contracts Manager
waters@umbc.edu
410-455-8635

Office for Research Protections and Compliance 

Timothy Sparklin
CIM, CIP Research Compliance Officer
sparklin@umbc.edu
410-455-2737
Mary Lilly  Mary Lilly
 Protocol Review
lilly@umbc.edu
410-455-3958
Sara Parton
MS Compliance Specialist
sparton@umbc.edu
443-543-5455

Office of Technology Development 

Wendy Martin Wendy Martin
Director
wmartin@umbc.edu
410-455-3658
Olga pic Olga Aquino
Intellectual Property Coordinator 
oaquino@umbc.edu
410-455-5610
Diance Markellos Diane Markellos
Administrative Assistant II
dianem@umbc.edu
410-455-1414