Skip to Main Content

Research Council

The UMBC Research Council is a University Committee that reports directly to the Faculty Senate.  The Council reviews and recommends policies that promote and enhance research, scholarship, and creative activity at UMBC.  It also “serves as a forum for discussion of research issues or systematic problems in need of amelioration.”  In addition, the UMBC Research Council is charged with (a) carrying out periodic reviews of UMBC Centers and Institutes to ensure the academic quality and value to the University; (b) receiving reports from UMBC administration and research committees including issues of University compliance with Federal and State regulations; and (c) voicing faculty concerns to the campus administration on matters involving administrative or academic affairs affecting the quality of research.

The Research Council meets on the second Friday of each month during the Academic Year.  Meetings are held in ITE 456 from 11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.  If you would like to bring a potential initiative, concern or suggestion to the Research Council’s attention, please contact the Council through any or all of the individuals below.

We look forward to hearing from and working with you!


2013-2014 Research Council Members

College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Carlo DiClemente, Psychology, diclemen@umbc.edu
Margaret Re, Co-Chair, Visual Arts, re@umbc.edu
David Revill, Music, revill@umbc.edu
Craig Saper, Language, Literacy & Culture, csaper@umbc.edu
John Schumacher, Co-Chair, Sociology & Anthropology, jschuma@umbc.edu

College of Engineering and Information Technology
Dwayne Arola, Mechanical Engineering, darola@umbc.edu
Zhiyuan Chen, Information Systems, zhchen@umbc.edu

College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences
Matthias Gobbert, Mathematics & Statistics, gobbert@umbc.edu
Lasse Lindahl, Biological Sciences, lindahl@umbc.edu

Research Center Representatives
Don Norris, MIPAR, norris@umbc.edu
Amita Mehta, JCET, amita@umbc.edu

Senior Research Administrators Group Representative
Linda Brown, MIPAR, librown@umbc.edu

Graduate Student Association (GSA) Representative
Daniel Miller, mild1@umbc.edu

Professional Staff Senate (PASS) Representatives
Steve Bowers, Grant Accounting, bowers@umbc.edu
Dinah Winnick, OIA, dwinnick@umbc.edu

Non-Exempt Staff Representative
Sabrina Strohmier, CUERE, sabrinas@umbc.edu