Skip to Main Content

Research Council

The UMBC Research Council is a University Committee that reports directly to the Faculty Senate. The Council reviews and recommends policies that promote and enhance research, scholarship, and creative activity at UMBC. It also “serves as a forum for discussion of research issues or systematic problems in need of amelioration.” In addition, the UMBC Research Council is charged with:

  1. carrying out periodic reviews of UMBC Centers and Institutes to ensure the academic quality and value to the University;
  2. receiving reports from UMBC administration and research committees including issues of University compliance with Federal and State regulations; and
  3. voicing faculty concerns to the campus administration on matters involving administrative or academic affairs affecting the quality of research.

The Research Council meets on the second Friday of each month during the Academic Year.

Fall 2017 – Spring 2018 Research Council Meetings:  
  • September 8, 2017, 12:00 to 2:00 pm, Fine Arts Building (FA) Room 533
  • October 13, 2017, 12:00 to 2:00 pm, Fine Arts Building (FA) Room 533
  • November 10, 2017, 12:00 to 2:00 pm, Fine Arts Building (FA) Room 533
  • December 8, 2017, 12:00 to 2:00 pm, Fine Arts Building (FA) Room 533
  • February 9, 2018, 12:00 to 2:00 pm, Library Room 767
  • March 9, 2018, 12:00 to 2:00 pm, Commons Room 331
  • April 13, 2018, 12:00 to 2:00 pm, Commons Room 331
  • May11, 2018, 12:00 to 2:00 pm, Commons Room 331

If you would like to bring a potential initiative, concern or suggestion to the Research Council’s attention, please contact the Council through any or all of the individuals below.

We look forward to hearing from and working with you!

2017-2018 Research Council – Members

Engineering and Information Technology

  • Tülay Adali – Computer Science and Electrical Engineering –
  • Gunes Koru – Research Council Chair, Information Systems –
  • Karuna Joshi – Computer Science and Electrical Engineering –

Sciences and Mathematics

Social Sciences

Arts and Humanities

Research Center Representatives

Senior Research Administrators Group Representative

Graduate Student Association (GSA) Representative

Professional Staff Senate (PASS) Representatives

Non-Exempt Staff Representative

Ex-Officio Members of the Council (non-voting)
  • Provost (or designate)
  • Vice President for Administration and Finance (or designate)
  • Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer (or designate)
  • Vice President for Research (or designate)
  • Dean of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences (or designate)
  • Dean of Engineering and Information Technology (or designate)
  • Dean of Natural and Mathematical Sciences (or designate)
  • Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School (or designate)
  • Dean of the Erickson School (or designate)
  • Director of the Library (or designate)